Monday, March 22, 2010

FIFA World Cup 2010

FIFA World Cup was founded in 1930. The Championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not contested because of World War II. The tournament involves 32 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over a period of a about a month.(World Cup Finals). The World Cup in the most widely-viewed sporting event in the world, with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the 2006 final. Current champions is Italy but Brazil is the only team to have played in every tournament and have won the World Cup a record five times. The next World Cup will be held in South Africa, between 11 June and 11 July 2010, and the 2014 World Cup will be held in Brazil.

No comments:

Post a Comment